Thanh Tan

James and Claire

with one comment

Thanks to the Association of Independents in Radio (AIR) and my mentor, Independent Producer Dmae Roberts, my first self-produced radio documentary aired today on KBOO Community Radio! So exciting! Unlike my first piece for This American Life, I recorded, wrote and edited this second piece on my own. The story is called “James and Claire.” It’s about a guy I know from Boise, James Jameson, and his decision to become transgender. In a series of interviews and outings, he talked to me about why he did it, how he transitioned, and how his “unconventional” views of sexuality and gender continue to evolve. I first talked to James in Idaho, and followed his progress after he moved to Portland in search of a broader trans community.

Check it out here. If you’d like to learn more about James, visit his MySpace page here.

I’ll try to get some audio up on this blog soon. Special thanks to Dmae for offering me this opportunity and for providing such wonderful guidance. For more information about her award-winning work, click here.

BTW, I just watched this Frontline doc titled, “Young & Restless in China.” We all know Frontline rocks and there is a never-ending fascination with all things China. I think what makes this one unique is the sheer depth in which the filmmakers are able to track and film several individuals over a four-year period. Considering that’s how long I’ve been out of college, I can understand how much an individual can change in that time– especially when you live in a country that is developing at China’s rate. What compelling stories they had to tell! I felt I could totally identify with their struggles to find a balance between work and relationships, personal freedom and family obligations, etc. Story of my life lately. I’m sure many of you can relate.

Written by Thanh Tan

June 18, 2008 at 6:31 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow… fascinating piece, Thanh! I just finished listening. Congratulations on completing and airing your first self-produced piece! I’m looking forward to many more in the future.

    Rybo

    November 25, 2008 at 4:46 am


Leave a Reply

