Thanh Tan

Presents of mind.

leave a comment »

Yay!

For the first time EVER I finished the majority of my Christmas shopping (about 95%) before Dec. 1. This has never happened before. I’m usually one of those consumers who dashes around on Christmas Eve- give or take a day or two- and ends up overspending out of desperation. For obvious reasons, I will refrain from listing off what I got for the most important folks in my life. I will say I tried to focus on things that have real meaning or a practical function.

I have been very wary of my consumer ways of late. I would love nothing more than to buy less. In fact, I plan to check out this new documentary from Morgan Spurlock (of “Super Size Me” fame). The main character is Reverend Billy of the “Church of Stop Shopping.” The guy appears to be on a satirical journey to warn Americans of the dangers of consumption!

Also, I gotta say holiday shoppers can be mean! I did several live shots in front of Best Buy and Clackamas Town Center last week. I saw old people get cussed out by young people waiting in line, others camping out overnight to buy themselves new electronics, etc. One of our live truck operators tried to help out a passing driver to tell her she could take our first-row parking stall. She rolled down her window- and swore at him to get out of the way.

Speaking of which, check out these crazy shoppers at Boise Towne Square a couple days ago. Paramedics were brought in to treat some unfortunate souls hoping to get first crack at a much-hyped “goody bag” I saw and heard one consumer describe as “crap, crap, crap… and more crap.” Yet another unflattering, headline-grabbing story to come out of my beloved Idaho. Please, stop the madness! Here’s the raw video from KTVB.

Written by Thanh Tan

November 26, 2007 at 4:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

